Curriculum and Learning

CIS provides a full schooling programme for 3 to 18 year olds with the university entrance qualification of Cambridge Advance Levels for the oldest students.

The curriculum at CIS is based upon the programmes of the Cambridge International Examinations , starting with Cambridge Primary and moving through to IGCSE, AS and A Level in the senior years. The international programmes ensure a smooth transition through the years of schooling and provide the opportunity for students to succeed in a stimulating, externally validated and highly respected world-class educational programme. Ultimately, the qualifications which can be obtained by our senior students can open the doors to universities over the world. Cambridge qualifications are universally recognised and welcomed.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Nursery and Reception - (for 3 to 5 year olds)

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important and inter-connected and are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The seven areas are:

  • Communication and language

    Children are given opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

  • Physical development

    Young children are provided with opportunities to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

  • Personal, social and emotional development

    Children develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; form positive relationships and develop respect for others; develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and have confidence in their own abilities.

  • Literacy

    Children link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

  • Mathematics

    Children develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

  • Understanding the world

    Children learn to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

  • Expressive arts and design

    Children explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Primary School Years

The Cambridge framework provides curricula for the key subjects of English (or English as an Additional Language), Mathematics, Science and ICT starters. Other subjects are based upon the National Curriculum for England. They include Art, Geography, History, Music, Physical Education, and Personal and Social Education. Spanish is taught from Year 3 and Russian for native speakers from Year 1 in line with the Russian school curriculum.

The Cambridge and National Curriculum programmes provide statements of content, knowledge, skills and understanding, and attainment target levels for all the subjects we teach other than Russian and Spanish. There is a huge range of resources available to assist teachers and the school purchases widely but particularly from the UK.

However, academic subjects are only half of the story. Where we believe we excel is in putting the child and his or her needs and situation first. So not only do we recognise that each child is individual, but also that every day is different and each provides another opportunity for success and happiness.

Secondary School Years

The lower secondary years are characterised by an increasingly focused approach with specialist teachers for all subjects. This ensures that not only are students developing their knowledge and skills but that they are also prepared for the rigours of the examination courses which begin with the Cambridge IGCSE from Year 10.

The final two years of schooling are dedicated to the Advanced Subsidiary and Advanced Level examination courses of the Cambridge International Examnations. Recognised around the world for university entrance they offer students the flexibility of a completely free choice of subjects. So a student could specialise in the sciences, the arts or languages, or take a broad range of subjects from across different disciplines. As well as these high-level examination courses, CIS is also able to support students with different aspirations. Cambridge IGCSE Years

IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) is a two year programme leading to externally set, marked and certificated examinations from the Cambridge International Examnations. It is a unique UK government endorsed programme provided to thousands of schools around the world.

Our students are offered a curriculum across Years 10 and 11 that includes around 7 IGCSE examination subjects. These include the core ones of English Language, Mathematics , Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Three or four other subjects might be taken from Geography, History, Spanish, Russian, Business Studies, ICT (Information and Communication Technology), and perhaps a self-study first language. Exactly what is available in a particular year will depend upon a number of factors. What is ensured is suitability for our students and the key curriculum factors of breadth and balance. Depth and quality goes without saying with all Cambridge courses!

Cambridge A & AS level Curriculum

The General Certificate of Education Advanced Level, or A Level, is the ‘gold standard’ of Cambridge qualifications. It is accepted as an entry qualification by universities of the European Union and elsewhere around the world. A Level examinations are usually taken after 13 years of education and are based on approximately 360 hours of guided learning per subject, normally over a two year period. A Levels are highly specialised and a student will normally take three subjects, although occasionally exceptional students take four or five.